annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday is soo-oup

Yesterday I:

1. Spent hours on the phone, fucking HOURS, being given the runaround by the DWP, from one 0845 number to another, trying to sort out ED's benefits. Eventually I discover that her claim has been discontinued because it was late and they chose to ignore the reason. Had to get a letter from a medic confirming her cognition issues and send it with a letter asking for a reconsideration. Done.

2. Contacted Victim Support on behalf of SIL, but he has to initiate the process. He said he will and I think he might. Poor sod is jumpy as fuck.

3. Participated in a case review of ED's situation and all agreed things are much better than before. She's not so isolated, has made friends at MS centre, is able to get out via dial-a-ride, and is generally more perky. Memory and concentration are as before, no worse but no better. OT will to continue to work with her on ways of managing her life with these difficulties.

4. Went to Grandson's school with him in the evening as he's been invited to participate in this scheme for kids with loads of shit going on. He's very wee right now. I spoke to his head of year and made an appt for this morning.

So today I was up early and met her plus the child protection bloke. When I told them all the stuff that poor GS has on his plate at the moment it sounded like a script for Eastenders. Ghastly. But they were lovely, said he's a lovely kid but they've noticed that he's down, often dirty etc and they're going to initiate this thing called 'Team Around the Child' - to be honest I was fading out by then, but I feel I did what was necessary, given that I don't live just down the road and he can't just come round mine after school. Last job is to try and get ED's 'carer's' (women who come to help her out of bed, get washed and dressed etc) to come earlier so that GS is not getting up and getting himself off to school alone every day.

My art class is due to start in twenty minutes but it's two hours away so I've had that. Daughter is very distressed that her son needs these outside agencies, as am I, but I'm glad they're there. Early intervention, with the hope that he won't go right off the rails as he emerges into puberty. I'd quite like to go home now, daughter has an appt for 1.30 in her diary and neither of us can read the name/title of whoever it is, so I'm waiting with her.

To be honest I'm impressed with how I've kept on track - I wasn't convinced I'd be any use to anyone on Sunday when I arrived, but I seem to have found the wherewithal.

Please universe, keep any more trouble from falling on our heads. Especially that precious little boy - give him a break, he's never done anyone any harm.

12:54 p.m. - 13.03.12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter