annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Precious moments

Woken this morning by a text from Son saying he was on the train. Had a nice easy time with him. Lovely Son. Walked past a place with a big menu that included '3-Step Salad'. As I said, 'Huh, what's that? Step 1, acknowledge you're a salad?' we both laughed and then remembered it was his anniversary soon - in fact today! Yay, go Son, four years clean and sober. We did a little happy dance, right there and then, amidst the Saturday shoppers and had a big hug. I love that he wasn't hanging on the date - he loved it too, that he'd actually forgotten. Proud Ma, me.

Daughter2 seems pretty chipper as well, though she has managed to bamboozle me into meeting her at Ikea and driving her home with a flatpack bathroom cabinet. On my way back from Daughter 1's, which all sounds a bit exhausting to me, especially as I have a psychiatrist appt the next day. But it will all go as it goes.

I've finally managed to get hold of The Killing Season 1, and have written down instructions about how to make it play on the telly via the PC. I've gone for the Danish version (I say in response to a query) because it's the original - in fact discovering it was Danish was most of my motivation for wanting to watch it, having just seen an Australian made TV series (The Slap). I really enjoyed being somewhere else, not here or America and am looking forward to seeing a bit of Denmark. I know it's not a proper picture, especially since having been to America - I was totally unprepared for the experience of the grid layout of the towns and cities, the sheer quantity of it, what it feels like to be in it and so on, after a lifetime of American film and TV. Since coming home I've kept my eye out for exterior urban shots and can tell you they're almost always taken from across the street, at a bit of an angle. We see America in our living rooms probably as much as we see Britain - just been to check - at 11.05 on a Saturday night, three of the five terrestrial channels are showing American films - yet I had no idea of that view down the road.

Ah well, stoned ramblings on a Saturday night. I seem to have signed up for a reverse pyramid scheme on FB, whereby I get one hand-made something from Rosie and in return I'm making something for five others. I feel quite excited by it actually - I always need some kind of external push to get me doing stuff. That's why I went out with Son today - to the art supplies shop to spend a gift voucher on a new cutting board. My current one is warped from being left in the sun and I've rid my home of all extraneous pieces of wood that might have served. [Aside to Bloke - See, I knew they'd come in handy one day.]

Laters xx

9:57 p.m. - 07.01.12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter