annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Looking at ya

Had a fabulous acupuncture session today. She was utterly thrilled about me getting the flat (last time I saw her I was chucking it all in till after Christmas), and especially the manner of it (giving it my best shot, breaking down in a letting agent's office after seeing another crap flat, giving up hope, then getting a personal letter from a guy in that office offering me a viewing of a flat belonging to his father). She wrote on my notes 'excellent manifestation.' Bloody hippies. Me and her, we're both bloody hippies and hurrah for that.

I came home and slept for hours - it was dark when I woke up. Ah well, I must have needed it. Now very stoned on the sofa, watching I'm a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here - the one where they camp in the jungle and have to do scary/revolting tasks to earn food beyond rice and beans. It's my favourite - I usually end up liking people who have a shit media profile - they're all D List celebs, so generally portrayed as has-beens or wannabees, but of course, as well as having that in common they are as various as any group of people you could bung together. I must say I'm quite relieved Freddie Starr went home as I was in danger of warming to him.

Last night while I was writing here, an old Boomtown Rats single came on the radio:

I didn't recognise it at first, or even notice it, but I gradually got into it, found myself singing along with the chorus and realised who it was. I have this ongoing thing with Son about the Boomtown Rats, dating back ten years or more to my statement that the gig of theirs I'd been at in the late 70s/early 80s had been one of my all-time top gigs. Son finds this hilarious, as to him they're patently ridiculous. Since then the only single of theirs that ever gets played is 'I Don't Like Mondays', which I've always found annoying, and gradually my belief in the greatness of the gig faded away. Hearing that song last night brought it back - the passion and commitment, the sense of fury, the connection with an enthusiastic crowd - yeah, it was awesome. If it hadn't been so late I'd have phoned son and defended my original opinion, vigorously. Instead I emailed the show - not something I've done more than 3 or 4 times in my life - and she read it out about five minutes later, almost giving me a heart attack, I was so shocked. Very weird, hearing your words spoken by someone else, coming out of the radio.

Got me thinking. Today, when D (acupuncturist) was going on about 'manifestation', what I think of as affirmations, the thought leapt into my head that I want to support myself through writing. It feels greedy to follow getting the dream flat with another request, so I'm putting it back into my sub-conscious to brew for now, but just thinking about it gives me a warm glow.

Laters x

9:36 p.m. - 17.11.11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter