annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If I were a rich girl

Today was a big-time duvet day. I did get up to make my grandson some breakfast before Bloke came and took him home to his mummy, but went straight back to bed and stayed there till it got dark again.

Spent a lot of time hunting online for a flat. I've not yet seen what I want, where I want it, at a price I'm able to pay, and I'm finding it impossible to decide which aspects to surrender. Infuriatingly, if I wasn't insisting on ground floor I could easily get everything else, but what about elder daughter? Like I say, infuriating. I think I'm going to stop ruling out places which have a small flight of steps up to the front door, on the basis that with my help she's been able to manage the steps out of her place, no matter how bad her legs have been. Not a whole between-two-floors flight, but some. There are masses of old buildings in this city, but virtually all of them have steps up to allow for a lower ground floor. Steps down are too steep and narrow (servants' steps), but the ones going up will just have to be manageable, unless the gorgeous goddess of affordable housing wishes to shine a kindly light on me and my endeavours to find a home fit for all my family.

Location is the other option for flexibility. I've been fixed on living near the beach, within easy walking distance - I'm only three-quarters of a mile away now, but coming back is all uphill, which has been far more of a deterrent than I anticipated when I moved here. But while I think living right on the front would enhance the quality of life, I don't really think it'll necessarily be diminished by continuing not to. I've decided while writing that I shall give it till the end of the month, holding out for the dream home, then start considering more options. It makes my bloody head reel, I tell you.

Today was my sister's twins' birthday, so it would have been Ma's 91st as well. Terrible. I wanted to phone sis but couldn't somehow.

That's all.

9:17 p.m. - 25.10.11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter