annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cooking

I've done quite a lot of cooking today, which took far longer than I expected. I'm doing the Zoe Nutrition Project - it may not be called exactly that, but it has Zoe and Nutrition in there somewhere - which is about trying to eat the best food for your personal metabolism, or digestive system or whatever it is. This is not the clearest explanation - I always write at night and it always seems so complicated and I start to wonder if it's just a big scam, but I don't think it is. It's by Prof Tim Spector who spent years studying twins, and discovered that even identical twins metabolise food differently and that having food that suits your own system can make a huge difference in terms of energy, sleep, appetite and weight. This has been supported by lots of positive feedback, including from a few sceptical journalists so I'm having a go.


I did all these tests on how I process sugar and fats and on my gut biome and they let you know what's best for you and give you lots of short lessons which bring it all into manageable chunks. Foods are given points, for you, and you want to eat high scoring foods, but different combinations have different impact. Anyway, today I made myself two fish pies with lots of parsley, capers and a layer of spinach, which scored 70, a big bowl of puy lentil salad, with loads of veg (99), and some mini carrot cakes using gram flour and olive oil, which are surprisingly delicious (79). I've never made carrot cake before - it looks most implausible, sitting in the little baking cases with big strands of carrot, but they do melt into a general cakey vibe. 


Bloke had his introductory assessment for the radiotherapy for the prostate cancer yesterday. The starting date has been put forward from 'March' as he was told in October, to May 2nd, but apart from that it's all good. He was there for hours being prodded and poked about, having scans and enemas - he has to be empty for the radiotherapy so he's going to have to get used to enemas - not nice, and he was also tattooed on the spots where the radiation will be directed. I keep all this at arm's length emotionally, while being supportive-ish, but it still gets to me - I was completely overwhelmed yesterday when I lost my phone - total panic, and it's all that, loss, possible loss, previous loss, endless, endless fucking loss. Enough. Some kind person handed my phone in at Tesco's, the last place I went in search of it and I almost broke down all over the women in Customer Service. 


Ah well. This afternoon I took my dog up over the downs to meet my pal MC, probably one of the nicest human beings on Planet Earth and we walked along the riverbank, chatting shit and looking at fields full of baby lambs, fresh out of their mothers tottering about on their bendy legs, feeling the north wind blowing hard in our faces, with the river all murky and brown, flowing fast, joggers in fluourescent vests coming at us (Brighton Marathon approaches), the smell of damp and countryside and bright yellow daffs nodding in the wind. Yeah. 


 

11:44 p.m. - 28.03.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Sing, sing a song - 03.04.23
Saturday - 02.04.23
Meh - 01.04.23
Plans - 30.03.23
Our Day Out - 29.03.23

other diaries:

blueisnotred
ernst
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
orangepeeler
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
simeons-twin
annanotbob
melodymetuka
ottodixless
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter