annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BP mostly

I was going to write about Kreaen tonight but I've had a really shit day, dominated by blood pressure concerns, which were bad enough living through without remembering it all again now. But in short, I've had my blood pressure measured since I had that mini-stroke and sometimes it gets high. I'm taking medication. I had a letter asking me to monitor it using my own  device for two weeks. Today it was 220/174. I thought that was high so I looked at the NHS site (the only site that isn't trying to sell you anything and wants you to be well so they don't have to see you). There was a page to write in your BP to see if it was safe, but it wouldn't let me put in 174 for the lower figure - it only went up to 150 and then it was all red flashing contact your GP now, do not pass GO, do not collect £200, so I called and the receptionist said she'd put me on the urgent list and someone would call me back. I went into total panic mode, pacing about, with Bloke looking on, anxiously, so I went out with little Shirley and walked up and down the pier. I got a call at about 3.30 and they wanted me to go in (I can see I am telling it all, but I doubt anyone will read this apart from me, years later, if I have years later). 


I was really lucky, I had a fantastic student doctor who was going to get to the bottom of all this, even if it took all day. I had nearly 90 minutes of his full attention. He asked me a million questions - we discovered that we both swim in the winter sea - but mainly kept taking my BP, on each arm, with different machines and it was different every time. Like really different - I think the lowest was 115/79, and the highest was about 190/130, just moments later.  He looked into my eyes, or behind them, he later told the GP, who came and asked all the same questions again, medication, dizzy spells, eye problems, blah blah. In the end they think I'm really healthy for a woman of my age and this is inexplicable but not to worry about it unless I start developing any of the shit that usually follows it. Which is obviously great, but fuck me, what a day, what a load of emotions and panic and cancelling my lunch with grandson. Meh. Though I snuck in a question about my trapped nerve and the steroid injection so he's going to write a letter about that. He says.


But I went to the supermarket, bought all the ingredients for dinner and came home and cooked it before I took my coat off - I suddenly remembered that was how I used to manage when I felt like shit but had three kids to feed - don't sit down till the dinner's done or it'll never get done. 


On we go, then, innit. On we go.

11:54 p.m. - 13.12.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Gone - 23.12.22
Too Young - 21.12.22
All done - 19.12.22
Three - 17.12.22
Resting Miz Face - 17.12.22

other diaries:

blueisnotred
strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
simeons-twin
stepfordtart
annanotbob
life-my-way
joistmonkey
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
outer-jessie
portlypete
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter