annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day14

I am proud of having managed to blog every day in December so far. Sometimes, like tonight, it's been after midnight when I start so it looks like it's the next day, but I'm not getting fixated on that.

What has annoyed me a lot this evening is people putting asterisks in swear words, as if that makes any fucking difference. I just left this comment on someone's twitter feed: "Do you think putting c**t stops people thinking you are using the word cunt? It doesn't. Just say cunt and have done with it." They made the old joke about who put the cunt in Scunthorpe, but wrote c**t and suddenly this rush of fury surged through me and I wanted to grab them by the arms and shake the fucking stupidity right out of them.

This is, I think, the result of determinedly not getting involved in online arguments about politics or climate change or gender, as it's pointless and I do get ridiculous about having the last word when I know I'm right and I keep on and on and on replying till my antagonist surrenders and gets right off the internet and doesn't come back for ever more. I have a lot of fury in me these days and I'm trying to be a good person and not rant and rage at people who've done nothing to deserve it, because no one deserves it really and I'm not angry at a person, I'm angry at fate. or whatever you call it - the way life has fallen out. Meh.

The thing I forgot, or one of the things I forgot, about Corbyn and why he lost, is that he's an honourable man, playing in a dirty game, against dirty opponents. He has continually refused to respond to personal insults and accusations - like the thing about watching the Queen's Christmas speech, which hardly anyone watches, or about living in a million pound house - which is down to the fucked up London property market - he lives in a modest, ordinary terraced house which he's lived in for years and which has come to be worth that because prices in London are ridiculous, not because he's a hypocritical. But he won't defend himself,  he just carries on. He also didn't capitalise on any of the crass things done by Tories, not even Johnson hiding from reporters in a fridge. Son says this is why he has to go and why he's a rubbish leader. That 'be the change you want to see in the world' doesn't actually get you anywhere if the change you want is people to treat each other decently, though I'm not sure about that. I'm always polite and friendly to everyone I have to deal with and I virtually always get polite and friendly service back, and often get them going the extra mile to help. But I'm just living my life, not trying to win an election against people who have no shame.

Meh. I am grateful today for: having lunch with Son who came down for the day, even though I cancelled Vegas pal to do so, as my boy is my boy and we are sticking together through these hard times; having the energy to take the little dog out for a quick march round about in the dark; bed; dog; dinner

 

1:29 a.m. - 15.12.19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter