annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

150

I've completed 150 miles this year! woo hoo. I'd have said I'd walked it if I didn't fear putting The Proclaimers in your ear, maybe permanently. Though perhaps not as it doesn't scan.

Apart from that, I've been to Tuesday art group where I finally got round to sticking stuff onto a bit of board:

img_7546

 

When I say stuff, I mean squares I knitted, trying to learn new stitches, bits of jewellery my kids have given me over the years which I have never worn as necklaces and bracelets get on my nerves, shells, rope,  bits of driftwood and paper. Next week I'm going to finish it by filling in all the gaps. Maybe. Unless I get distracted.

 

Today I had my last acupuncture for three months as my beloved practitioner has only been awarded a grant to go to Taiwan to learn ancient Chinese to enable her to translate original acupuncture texts. Ratbag. "What about ME?" I want to shout at her, but I don't because she thinks I'm a nice person.

 

I asked the council waste management dept if I could have a litter-picker as I've been picking it up with my bare hands when I do the #2minutebeachclean and they delivered one later in the day:

img_7561

 

To be honest, it's not much use for sea debris as that's usually attached to seaweed which needs separating, but it's grand for litter and it was cool to hear how enthusiastic and grateful the council guy was. Sometimes I look at all the dogs pissing on stuff on the beach and think I must be mad.

 

This was the day before:img_7547

 

and was mostly litter, and this was today, along the new boardwalk on the beach where I lived for years, where all my kids grew up. If the pressure sore ever heals, I'm looking forward to being able to take ED along there:

 

img_7564

 

It was a gloomy day and I felt gloomy.  I listened to Nick Cave's new album as I walked, which suited my mood. He's local and lost one of his sons in a horrific accident recently, so he speaks to me. I'm struggling with ED being confined to quarters again so soon. When she's well and can sit in her wheelchair, not only can I take her out, but so can the staff, and they would. They have five big vans that each take three wheelchairs and they have the residents out and about all the time. She'd go to the local MS treatment centre and social club, to the hydro pool and just on general larking about trips. As it is, she has to be in bed and off the sore for all but two thirty minute stretches and there aren't enough staff for her not to be alone in her bed for hours and hours every day. So I feel I have to visit almost every day, but it's getting harder and harder. Today I really lost the plot outside, perhaps because I don't often let myself think that this isn't what I want, because what's the point? She's my girl and I love her and that's that.

 

Now I'm going to watch the first episode of the new Roots.

I'm not sure if this will play or if I have to do more, but here's a link to my son-in-law, the conceptual artist, talking about his art:

http://www.disabilityartsinternational.org/

 

I am grateful for: litter-pickers; beach; art; daughters; friends

 

And you xxx keep safe xxx

11:44 p.m. - 08.02.17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter