annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Singing this morning, very soothing. I'm needing a steady drip of soothe right now. They sponsored me for the walk to the tune of �47 between them, and we sang Bob Marley, Lou Reed (Perfect Day - first and last time we do that, very weird), My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean, Lord of the Dance, Yellow Submarine and other random songs that have somehow arrived in our repertoire.

Next week there's 'old people's day', apparently, whatever the fuck that means, and the woman who runs the group has arranged for us to sing outdoors, in a really busy place. Only if we feel like it, which most of them do and a large part of me does, but we shall see. They want us to wear red, orange or purple and the only thing I have is this battered old pair of purple patchwork harem style trousers that I do wear when I feel like it, but... no, when I start to write them down all my doubts are ridiculous, apart from the one about the stitching coming undone.

Anyway, later, my pal J (OK, one of my pals called J, JMuso, then) was curating an exhibition for a friend, in a gallery on the seafront, right down on the beach and she invited me to pass by and chat a while. Warm sun, no wind, bench against a warm brick wall, old friend, chat, smoke, eat mackerel from the stall, watch the world go by, chat to visitors, very mellow.

This evening I remembered that I'd bought a fleece onesie last year, size large, not quite large enough to be comfortable, but I have (inadvertently) lost loads of weight since taking up walking. Oh joy - there are no drafts, nothing's tight or anything other than soft and snuggly. I look like a dick, clearly, but an exceedingly comfortable dick.

I'm reading 'How a Gunman Says Goodbye' by Malcolm Mackay right now, second of a trilogy, bloody great. An original voice. Set in Glasgow, organised crime, short time span, multiple first person narrators creating internal narratives in which they are not brutal, unforgiving bastards. Great characters. The first one 'The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter' is also excellent. I've read quite a few good books in recent months, but looking down the list in my kindle, I have no idea which is which - it's not the same as having the book face down on the bedside table, with the author and title staring up at you. I will return to this subject.

The walk is only two weeks away. Fucking hell. I don't think I can do being in charge - I need someone else to take over now. I don't know what there is to do, apart from make a map with all the toilets marked on, with distances between them. I can do that next week, walking it in sections.

The comments and the stats are both half-working in an intermittent, defiant manner, which is most unkind of them.

Sweet dreams xxx

11:53 p.m. - 27.09.13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter