annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My oh my

I'm rubbish at replying to comments, for which I apologise and will try to make amends here and now.

The board to hide the fireplace was made by YD, the recycling queen, on a kitchen cupboard door we found out in the street. We had been discussing what to use as a base without reaching any conclusion when this turned up and was just the job. The picture is a collage made from photos torn out of The Guardian Weekend magazine - National Geographic is an even better source of collage friendly photos. YD knew what scene she wanted to create and sketched it on in pencil first. Then lots of PVA glue. She says she wants to try and do versions of famous paintings.

I think the problem with making cheesy fritters (aka Glamorgan sausages) in America will be the cheese. The ideal is Caerphilly, wet, crumbly and quite sharp - last night we used Cheshire as they'd sold out of Caerphilly but it wasn't as good. And, at risk of upsetting people, all the cheese I had in America was what I can only describe as a food-like substance. Though I know proper cheese is available as Goatbarnwitch makes it for a start.

The fritters are made with fresh wholemeal bread, blitzed into crumbs, a few spring onions/scallions finely chopped, fresh thyme, and grated cheese. Mix all this up, add one whole egg and one yolk, mix together and form into rounds. Whisk up the leftover egg white a bit with a knife on a plate, make some more breadcrumbs, dip the fritters in the egg then the crumbs then shallow fry for a few minutes on each side. Delicious.

Thank you Stepfie for advice re NHS specs. I will be on it forthwith as I can hardly see fuck all.

Thank you for the support as well, dear readers who have become friends. It really keeps me going when all in Real World are up to their necks in their own shite and not noticing me over here, paddling like fuck to try and keep afloat. These are hard old times for so many people.

Tomorrow we will be making a second attempt at visiting ED after not making it today. Wish us luck.

Sweet dreams xx

12:07 a.m. - 18.09.12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter