annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0-0

Watched the footie with the sound off, alongside TinyM, SDog and Bloke, supposedly 'in the background' while we ate the dinner Bloke and I had cooked. Ha. They all love it, they do, that bloody football. Loads of chat about Gerrard and Terry and Rooney and why Spain are tons better than Germany - they know shitloads about it. Bastards.

I am so bored by sport these days - watching it I mean, especially on the telly, and hearing people talk about it. I haven't always felt this way - I used to watch my home team (Swindon) when I was a kid, and have followed various World Cups and other sports, but in the end it's always the same, someone wins and someone loses, doing something pointless, more or faster or stronger till the next one and I don't care. The match this evening went on forever and ever and ever and bloody Wimbledon starts tomorrow and then it's the fucking Olympics and I DON'T CARE.

When I was a teacher there was this assumption that reading was A Good Thing and that anyone who didn't like it was in need of help, but I've never accepted that, because if you apply it to reading then why not to spectator sport, and I don't want to be persuaded into a liking for that, thank you very much.

I had a long chat with YD today, the first one since her friend died, and feel a great sense of relief. She's safe.

Grateful for: steady days; a houseful of friends; a fridge full of top left-overs (half a chicken, some cooked new potatoes and some roasted peppers); filling a whole bin bag with fallen leaves to make leaf mould; the wind has died down a bit.

Sweet dreams xx

11:57 p.m. - 24.06.12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter